Spicy Thai Noodles. Not So Bad.

On the Pin Test this week we test our first recipe from Pinterest! What fun!

As a poor college student going to school full time, working at an unpaid internship AND working in the customer service industry, I rarely have the time or the money to be making food. Ain’t nobody got time for that! Due to this, what feels like, never-ending dilemma I chose a recipe that did not take long and appeared to be inexpensive.

Here it is, the Spicy Thai Noodle pin:

If you want to see the website it came from, here that is:
http://asmallsnippet.com/2011/03/spicy-thai-noodles.html

So far the pin for Spicy Thai Noodles sounds really promising. With a description that says, “last pinner said ‘best pinterest recipe I’ve tried by far!!! Took 20 mins to make and is restaurant quality,'” you can’t go wrong!

You would think the ingredients for this recipe are relatively cheap, but if you don’t already have most of these items, then you are going to spend a lot of money. The only items we already had were crushed red pepper flakes and soy sauce. My sidekick (the boyfriend) and I were frantically running through the grocery store trying to find everything we needed. It cost us about $25.00 just to get what was needed for the recipe!

I didn’t notice till checkout that the boy had gotten oregano instead of cilantro. I grabbed the oregano off the check out line and ran to swap it out for cilantro. I can’t believe he almost hijacked my project! Let’s just say no words were spoken on the ride home from the grocery store.

The directions are pretty straight forward. The recipe for this on the website suggests using only one tablespoon of crushed red peppers to get the hot taste but not have it be spicy. I only used one tablespoon and I think it was a perfect amount.

I would recommend prioritizing which tasks you should do first. I have a problem where I get too excited and just go out of turn and make different parts of the dish at the wrong times. Naturally I cooked the noodles first and the spicy sesame oil juice without realizing that I probably needed to cut up the peanuts, cilantro, green onions and carrots, as well as mix the honey and soy sauce in a separate dish. My sidekick was cringing while I flailed in our tiny kitchen. He’s the one that normally cooks, while I can just make Mac and Cheese.

Finally finished! Here is what we ended up with:
IMG_0229

The 20 minute cook time was pretty precise. There was enough sauce to coat everything. I have made Thai food before and the recipe never calls for enough sauce. The pin description says, “‘best pinterest recipe I’ve tried by far… and is restaurant quality.'” Lets not get crazy. The food was decent and somewhat boring. I can say it is not the best Pinterest recipe that I have tried nor is it restaurant quality.

We felt there was something missing from the noodles so we added some imitation crab meat that we already had:
IMG_0230

I have to say that once you start really eating it, the recipe grows on you to where you can say, “I like this, it’ll do.” This meal is something you would make if you already had most of the items and just need to whip up something fast. It is something you would make on stir fry night (yes, you know what I mean when I say stir fry night). This recipe is also good for vegetarians.

Recommendations:
1. Make some shrimp, chicken, beef, etc. to go with it.
2. If you want it a lot spicier make it with one and a half tablespoons of crushed red peppers and if you want it super duper spicy, use two tablespoons.
3. If you don’t have most of the ingredients, do not waste your time to go to the store to make this unless you want to spend a good amount of money.
4. Don’t go into making this thinking that it is the best meal ever, because it isn’t. It’s just okay.

Leave a Reply

